Advertisement

Video Game Studio Design

Started by May 20, 2015 11:46 AM
6 comments, last by Buster2000 9 years, 3 months ago

Hi! I'm an architecture student working on designing a Video Game Studio.

I was wondering if anyone who's had experience in the industry could give me a few pointers.

Stuff like,

- What are the different types of rooms/space one would find in a studio.

- What are the different designations in a studio? Which designations work in an open plan and which need more privacy?

- What type of work environment is suitable for the type of work? Naturally ventilated/lighted vs. Artificially? Open vs. Closed? Airy and spacious or Compact and cozy? etc.

- How does work progress in a studio? Do certain levels of progress require special spaces?

- Equipment used?

..and anything else one would consider in designing a studio.

I'm planning on designing for a team of over 100-200 but any size is fine for inputs.

Thanks in advance!

- What are the different designations in a studio? Which designations work in an open plan and which need more privacy?
- What type of work environment is suitable for the type of work? Naturally ventilated/lighted vs. Artificially? Open vs. Closed? Airy and spacious or Compact and cozy? etc.

For starters, you should listen to this morning's story about "how a bigger lunch table can boost productivity" on NPR's Morning Edition. I was just coincidentally listening to it before reading your post. http://www.npr.org/sections/alltechconsidered/2015/05/20/405226172/how-a-bigger-lunch-table-at-work-can-boost-productivity

And for your "different designations" question, I guess you're asking about the different job roles in games. Read http://www.sloperama.com/advice/lesson7.htm

-- Tom Sloper -- sloperama.com

Advertisement

Not directly answering your questions, but a few thoughts to help with some considerations: