Advertisement

Buying a New Laptop for Game Development

Started by January 03, 2015 05:17 PM
8 comments, last by Gian-Reto 9 years, 8 months ago

I am a student who's intending to move into game development (I am planning on trying OpenGL, Unity, DirectX etc.). I am thinking of investing on a new laptop that would allow me to start with it. I am also a gamer who would like to play new games with great graphics. So considering both these facts, I would like to get your idea on what would be a good laptop for me. My budget is between 2000$ - 2500$. I am currently considering laptops with GTX 980M (such as MSI GT72 Dominator Pro) or Dual GTX 970M SLI such as (Aorus X7 Pro).

So I would like to get your opinion on what would be a good choice? Would having a Dual GPU Setup benefit me when it comes to Game development in any case? or having a single yet superior GPU (in 980M) is enough? Or should I go for a laptop with a Nvidia Quadro GPU (Which I do not think is ideal when it comes to gaming)? I would really appreciate your suggestions on this smile.png.

Plus, I would like to get your opinion on the CPU, GPU, HDD or SSD, and RAM that would be ideal for Game development.

Thank you in advance! :)

It's been a while since I last purchased a new laptop, but I would go and look up specs for laptops purposefully branded as a gaming laptop such as those from alienware, but not buy from them. Once i know what specs they call a gaming laptop, look for laptops with similar spec elsewhere that aren't branded specifically as a gaming laptop. Graphics are always the sore point, is there a reason you want a laptop rather than a small desktop able to house a good high end graphics card and lots of ram?
Advertisement

Hi Thank you for your reply! :)