Advertisement

I need your opinion moving forward

Started by May 07, 2014 10:56 PM
11 comments, last by JohnnyCode 10 years, 4 months ago

As an AS3 Flash programmer I believe the market for PC flash games is slowly dying out... After investing in the Flash CS program not too far in the past I have come quickly to regret the decision. I am very fluent with the Flash program and do not want to abandon it but I feel like I have no other choice but to move onto HTML5 ( which I heard makes all of your programming public once released, thus it sucks ) or other OOP language to shift towards the booming mobile market. I would like to ask all you pro's out there for your advice on where I should go next, I seem to be in a pickle at this point in life >> Recently out of college with a mass of debt and a new daughter; so I reach out to you all and ask what would you do at this point?

you should learn opengl/webgl, in case you wish to use 3d context of the <canvas> element, but you do not have to do that in case of 2d context of <canvas> of course.

You should learn javascript, what is a voracious beast that gobbles up programmers without knowledge of low-level languages and instructions in deep depth. Be aware (all the time) that JS is not easy if you fall to this assumption at begining. You will experience depressive mistakes and bugs, but do not make yourself think it is your inapropriatness to code, remember what I told about beast gobling up great programers for breakfast.

If you go 3d, learn vertex-pixel pipeline rasterizing and linear algebra.

Advertisement

I have dipped into JS quite a bit acutally, but mostly just for Box2D and subtle webpage experiments.

What is a good way to create mobile games? Preferably Google Play store / Android

JS is also very similar to AS3

There are several options open for you if you're going the Android path:

1. You can stick with Flash (AIR in this case).