Advertisement

What hardware do you use?

Started by April 06, 2014 04:36 PM
32 comments, last by Gavin Williams 10 years, 4 months ago

I am quite surprised there is not a sub forum for hardware. So what are your hardware specs. What is the most cpu intensive software you run. What would a typical professional 3d artist or game programmer use at the high end?

I can imagine a system at the very high end, dual xeons, dual quadros, 64 gigs ram, raid 5 ssds, dual 30'' monitors. Is that not a bit overkill though considering the amount it would cost when you could still manage it on much less.

Also what are some good monitors, I assume most people want touchscreen?

Crikey, whoever you work for must be swimming in spare cash. I'm a 3D artist I've got dual 24" monitors, an i7 2600k (I think) and a quadro fx1800 (which is 5 years old now). You don't need a fancy graphics card for 3D art because your modelling program doesn't need 60fps (it hardly needs 15). The only thing I care about is the processor, more threads the better, but it's still difficult to convince my boss that I should spend more that £200-£300 on just a CPU.

I don't have an SSD and only just got 16Gig of ram.

Advertisement
Typically studios will provide developers with the best tools for their job, at a reasonable cost and reasonable update frequency.

Consider the cost of an employee. What may be $70000 in salary might be $10000 when considering benefits, corporate-paid taxes, and other expenses. It is nonsensical to pay so much and then provide inadequate tools.

Often studios will spend $2000-$4000 on a machine every 3-5 years or so, enough to meet the developer's needs in their job.

Note that what you need for your job and want for a coolness factor are probably different.