Advertisement

Recovering lost skills

Started by February 27, 2013 06:34 AM
12 comments, last by ranakor 11 years, 6 months ago
Hi all, I used to be a game programmer. But two years ago life forced me to walk its hard way. My pc was blasted, I was poor as fuck and I had to work for money. So I quit programming.

Two years has passed, I have enough money to get a decent laptop. In fact I just bought one. Yesterday I turned on my laptop, got myself a cup of coffee, relaxed my hands on the keyboard. I fired up VS2010. Ready to rock. But then I just stared blank at the LED screen. I felt so weird. I seemed to have forgotten all my coding skills. I just couldn't get in touch anymore with the beautiful IDE. What's wrong with me?

Anyone ever felt the same? what should I do to get my game programming skill back? all my reference was hardcopies. And they've rotten in the warehouse :(
the hardest part is the beginning...
If you've really lost how to develop, perhaps a refresher of the basics.

Implement a linked list container. Implement a generic sorting algorithm. Implement the FogBuzz problem. Etc.

These are simple problems that should get your brain back into a programming mentality.
Advertisement

Um... did you try to do something without an idea what to make? (WHAT and not HOW)

thx for all the suggestions, seems I just need to warm up again with some simple projects. I kinda get the hang of this now. Btw what is the up to date library that people use for handling input, windowing, setting up opengl? I used sdl back then. I heard its development was stopped in some way.
the hardest part is the beginning...

SDL 1.2 is dead, SDL 2.0 is in fully active development. Beware that it isn't compatible, though, so if you check tutorials and such make sure to check for which version are they. Nowhere near as big of a change as was with Allegro however...