Advertisement

Anyone willing to mentor?

Started by February 01, 2012 01:17 AM
13 comments, last by way2lazy2care 12 years, 7 months ago
I'm just starting out learning c++ and I wanted to know if anyone is interested in helping me along! Im trying to learn the basics from this book called Begginning C++ Through Game Programming by Micheal Dawson but I would like someone who could maybe show me some more advanced skills or even just some things I should know about C++. I want someone who could introduce me to other programers and maybe even work on some projects to help me learn. I apologize in advance if this is not the thread I should be posting on for this kind of thing.
To be honest, asking for a "mentor" is a lot to ask for on a forum. GameDev.net is one of the most helpful communities I've seen on the interwebs though, so if you're stuck with a problem and have a question then there are a ton of people who would be more that happy to provide some help. I'd recommend spending some time on the "For Beginners" section of the forums for awhile.

Welcome to the site :)
laziness is the foundation of efficiency | www.AdrianWalker.info | Adventures in Game Production | @zer0wolf - Twitter
Advertisement
http://gmo.chronus.com/p/main/about

Check that site out. Don't know much about it right now but has been around for a few months already and seems to be moving forward well. I know some of the people behind it and trust it's worth looking into

Drew Sikora
Executive Producer
GameDev.net

I like the idea of the site but apparently I'm way too young to actually register . . . the reason I want a mentor is because I'm completely new to game programing and I have tons of questions and I want somebody who can help me with learning about the game development progresss. I want to work with and meet some other programers since right now I don't really know anyone who knows about game development or programming.