Advertisement

Games that teach you something

Started by September 09, 2011 04:29 PM
4 comments, last by alnite 13 years ago
Hello everyone,

I stumbled across this video explaining that good ideas come from collaboration with people with a similar passion. I have been a hobbyist for a while now and this is my first attempt at joining a forum to share my ideas and learn about your ideas.

Enough about that. The idea of games that teach you something has been on my mind since playing the new Deus Ex game. If you haven't played it yet the game tackles some deep issues such as: "Should we be use mechanical enhancements even though humans are bound to exploit them?". The questions the game poses don't really have a right or wrong answer and it really got me thinking. Why don't we see more games doing this? We are not short on subjects: immigration (Surely there is an alien game that has at least touched this one?), the sanctity of marriage, western lifestyle vs eastern lifestyle, religious wars, environmentalism,etc.... But every game seems to have a clear "good and evil" laid out. Some of the best movies and books tackle subjects like these all the time. I feel that games would be even better at covering deep subjects because the player has a hand in crafting the story.

Has there been a game that has taught you something or rocked your worldview? Do you have any topics you would love to see games cover? Share your thoughts.