Advertisement

Online Video Game Development Studio

Started by March 16, 2011 08:23 AM
9 comments, last by Ravyne 13 years, 6 months ago
Hi guys,

I've been a hobbyist game developer for about 5-10 years now. Having been on and off various mods (Anyone remember Sapphire Scar? No? Ok) and created quite a few failed projects whilst learning C++ from scratch. Its been a lot of fun and an amazing learning experience, and I'll continue for a long time to come. Professionally I'm an IT Architect, which I love too, and I've been thinking a lot lately about how I could use my various skills to create something worthwhile for the industry as a whole and I'd like to get some initial feedback on a possible project I've been stewing over for some time now. It could be a dud, but it could also be a good idea. Or maybe it already exists? Let me know.

[size="4"]The Problem
In all the time I've been on the edge of this industry the thing that has by far frustrated me the most is the massive amounts of overhead to embark on such a creative endeavor. Upstarts and indies alike have to battle an almost unending series of hurdles such as geographical team member locations and its associated difficulties, and lack of non-creative skills (business management, project management, IT technical, etc). In my [not entirely educated] opinion, many mods/upstarts fail near the start of their project because it just gets out of hand. Partially because they may just think too big ("Lets make WoW for our first project, but better"), but also because they don't project manage it properly - That is to say, they don't define a scope and then drill down and lay out the steps or phases necessary to complete it. I believe this because I've been a victim of it more than once.

[size="4"]The Solution