Advertisement

The Never Ending Developing Story

Started by March 07, 2011 11:31 AM
4 comments, last by Zethariel 13 years, 6 months ago
Hi there!

First off I'd like to apologise if this topic found the wrong forum to be posted upon - I wasn't entirely sure where would it fit, but since I'm a begginer developer, I figured it would find it's place here :)

My question is - Is constantly developing a game Fun? For example - A game has been finished - a multiplayer coop one. The content of the game is varied and interesting, forcing the players and community to speculate about the creatures and lore within. From the player side, it is entertaining (at least to some) to be capable of exploring first hand and being the first ones to discover something new in a game and post it. Can developers have that same kind of fun from their end? Is it fun to constantly dabble in the game, changing behavioral patterns of enemies, altering sublte gameplay mechanics (such as gravity or day-night cycle) and seeing the players react? I imagine it like a Player-Developer Pong match - the developers strike the ball at an angle, the players strike it back, yet the creators strike it again under a harder angle, making the community act different.

From my point of view (writer and content designer) it is fun to keep changing things, thinking up new stuff or altering the old to make it fresh. I'd like to know the opinion of artists and progammers about such an idea. Would it be monotnous and boring, if not irksome? Or would it be a way to keep the game (and it's design team) healthy and alive for years to come? Of course I'm allowing for said artists and programmers to present their own unique ideas concerning the world that would be refined by writers or made even better with collaborative effort of the whole group.