Advertisement

is C++ faster than java? And is a language really a language without its legacy?

Started by February 16, 2011 06:51 PM
17 comments, last by Lord Crc 13 years, 6 months ago
I am still in the learning process. I studied and programmed in Java from the beginning up until now is almost 2 years. Made several GUI applications, some games with threads and networking (my assignments). I am going to study C++ next, and I am interested in it because C++ is the language which is used primary in game industry, so maybe I'm gonna heavily investing time in it. I also did a little research on C++ vs Java as well as other languages, and I read other threads in this forum about this subject. Usually, the conclusion is C++ faster in most cases, except for lab benchmarks. However, I tried a little program, and C++ (using std::cout from iostream) is slower than Java, but faster than java using printf from C:

Java code:

public class Main {
public static void main(String[] args) {
int count = 0;
for(int i= 0; i< 200000; i++)
{
System.out.println("Hello world!");
count++;
}
System.out.println("Count:"+count);
}
}

Result: On my system, it completed in 42 secs.

C++ code:
  • With std::cout

#include <iostream>
    using namespace std;

int main() {
    int count = 0;
    std::ios_base::sync_with_stdio(false);
    for(int i = 1; i < 200000; i++)
    {
    cout << "Hello world!\n";
    count++;
    }
    cout<<"Count:%d\n"<<count;
    return 0;
    }

Result: It took forever, so I stopped before it could even finish. I already turned off sharing with stdio from C to speed up significantly.
    • With printf

#include <iostream>
      using namespace std;

int main() {
      int count = 0;
      for(int i = 1; i< 200000; i++)
      {
      printf ("Hello world!\n");
      count++;
      }
      printf("Count:%d\n",count);
      return 0;
      }

Result: Less time to finish compare to Java.

So, should I stop using iostream and used the C stdio?