🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Where to find a list of Linux functions for C++

Started by
10 comments, last by pulpfist 16 years, 6 months ago
Hi, I started programming in Linux recently, but I find myself having problems with finding correct functions to do things I could do in Windows using its well-documented API. Now I can't even find one website that even tries to explain the basic Linux commands. Things like "Linux c++ functions" yield no results. It seems like I am the only one who doesn't know these functions by heart, since there seem to be no tutorials. Can anyone help me?
Currently working on WalledIn
Advertisement
Linux installations generally install function reference information on your system in the form of man pages. Help on man.

You can also go online and find browsable man pages. For example, if you want information on open(), you can generally throw "man open" into google and get some results. Some results won't be so good. If you throw "man man" into google you get a lot of information about a punk rock band.
So there is no other way of finding the right functions?

Is this really the way you all learned the linux-specific c++ functions?
A lot of newcomers are confused by "Linux".

Linux is a kernel. As such, it has no "C++ functions" available from userland. There are syscalls, documented in syscalls(2). syscalls(2) means there is a "syscalls" entry in section 2 of the manual, which you can reach by typing man 2 syscalls on the command line1. Searching the manual entries can be done with apropos or man -k, as in apropos syscalls or man -k syscalls. Another documentation systems — used mostly by GNU projects — is info.