🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

glfwExtensionSupported == false on Linux

Started by
8 comments, last by elFarto 16 years, 11 months ago
I am trying to get VBO's to work on linux using gcc with the Code::Blocks IDE and the GLFW library. I have never used VBO's before I and haven't the slightest clue what is absolutely mandatory for:
GenBuffersARB=(PFNGLGENBUFFERSARBPROC)glfwGetProcAddress("glGenBuffersARB");
GLuint id;
GenBuffersARB(1,&id);
...to not cause a segmentation fault. When I try:
if (!glfwExtensionSupported("GL_ARB_vertex_buffer_object"))
    return false;
"return false" gets executed every time. GLFW is working just fine without VBO's rending in immediate mode and loading textures. I even linked "/usr/lib/libGL.so," "/usr/lib/libGLU.so," and "/usr/lib/libglut.so" and nothing changed. I have a GeForce 8800 GLX with the nVidia 9755 driver installed on Linux Kubuntu. Surely the GeForce 8800 supports VBO's.
Programming since 1995.
Advertisement
try "$ glxinfo | grep vertex_buffer"

If nothing happens, then you probably don't have this extension. Maybe you did not install your driver correctly.

$ glxinfo gives you a pretty big output. Somewhere in there is your opengl version. and vendor string. If the vendor is mesa and the version is sub 2.0 then you probably doing software rendering.

Also you should make sure that your linked in -lGL is the correct nvidia one. Not the mesa-software-library. (apparently I am not really sure howto do it, or even if it is possible to make a mistake there - Have you checked your opengl version inside your program? )
Thank you, and I don't think I have Mesa, I tried to install it but that never worked. Regardless, here is my console output from your suggestion.
Quote: Kubuntu Konsole
$ glxinfo | grep vertex_buffer