Advertisement

[Linux] Error when switching to higher resolutions

Started by March 31, 2007 07:30 PM
4 comments, last by Zakwayda 17 years, 5 months ago
Hi all, I've run into an apparent problem with my Linux system configuration that I thought someone here might be able to help with (as this post will probably reveal, I'm fairly new to Linux). I originally posted this over at LinuxQuestions.org (as it seemed like it might be more 'on topic' in the hardware forums there), but didn't get any replies. The problem I've encountered is that whenever an application attempts to switch to a resolution higher than the current desktop resolution, the application quits with the following error:
X Error of failed request:  BadValue (integer parameter out of range for operation)
  Major opcode of failed request:  134 (XFree86-VidModeExtension)
  Minor opcode of failed request:  10 (XF86VidModeSwitchToMode)
  Value in failed request:  0x4c
  Serial number of failed request:  112
  Current serial number in output stream:  114
At first I thought it was due to a problem with my code (I'm using SDL), but I've since observed that the same thing happens with other games as well. My Google search on the topic did turn up this thread on another forum (it appears to refer to the exact same problem), but I haven't been able to find a solution. I'm using Fedora 5, and the card is an Intel i810. Here's the xorg.conf file:

# Xorg configuration created by system-config-display

Section "ServerLayout"
	Identifier     "single head configuration"
	Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
	InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
	InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "Files"

# Multiple FontPath entries are allowed (they are concatenated together)
# By default, a font server independent of the X server is
# used to render fonts.
	FontPath     "unix/:7100"
EndSection

Section "Module"
	Load  "dbe"
	Load  "extmod"
	Load  "fbdevhw"
	Load  "glx"
	Load  "record"
	Load  "freetype"