Advertisement

[FreeBSD] Kernel upgrade from 5.1-RELEASE

Started by June 27, 2005 09:47 AM
5 comments, last by Clash Rocker 19 years, 2 months ago
Hi, Okay, so I've got my FreeBSD 5.1-RELEASE running fine and all, but lately more and more ports seems to fail to build; most noteable gcc34 on which many ports rely. Know I think that gcc34 is the native compiler for current. So for my problems to go away I need to get current. Now I've found many wonderful howto's online which tell me what to do, but they are very different from eachother. For instance some require reboot in single mode before mergemaster, while others don't bother. I've been using FreeBSD for more than a year now, but in this regard I still feel like a complete newbie. [sad] Can anyone tell me how to upgrade from 5.1-RELEASE to current? tia, CipherCraft PS I have a cvsup file with release set to 'cvs tag=.', updating using cvsup works fine. It's the steps after that that confuse me or make me uncertain. PPS My last attempt (from 4.5 to 5.1) failed and left my machine unbootable. I was able to get to my data using the live cd but had to reinstall the whole thing, something I don't wish to do again...
I'm assuming you read the handbook on this: Rebuilding world Since you brought up the fact you read the "howto", just linking it though for reference. But usually 99.9% of the time just follow the handbook over anything you find in the wild.