Advertisement

I can't get a high resolution (Debian)

Started by March 31, 2005 01:23 PM
6 comments, last by Null and Void 19 years, 5 months ago
On my Windows XP partion I can have a resolution of 1280x1024 but on my Debian partion I can't get anything above 800x600. I have been using this crappy 800x600 resolution for a few months and I really wan't to have a higher resolution. I have a Nvidia 5200 and I was wondering, could it be my card drivers? (I can get 1280x1024 on Windows without any drivers installed so I don't think that that is the problem, but just in case.)
______________________________________________________________________________________With the flesh of a cow.
which drivers are you using(are you using nv or nvidia or svga?)
Advertisement
Quote: Original post by eedok
which drivers are you using(are you using nv or nvidia or svga?)

nv

I can't login, I am at a school computer.
*Bump* This is really important to me, programming with an 800x600 resolution is extremely hard.
______________________________________________________________________________________With the flesh of a cow.
What do you mean by you can't "get" a greater resolution? I assume you changed the default value in XF86Config-4? Do you have the most up to date drivers? nvidia is what you want, nv is old (only supports up to like GF3, I believe). You can get them from nvidia's site.

Good luck!
Without order nothing can exist - without chaos nothing can evolve.
Quote: Original post by CyberSlag5k
What do you mean by you can't "get" a greater resolution? I assume you changed the default value in XF86Config-4? Do you have the most up to date drivers? nvidia is what you want, nv is old (only supports up to like GF3, I believe). You can get them from nvidia's site.

Good luck!

Seconded. You really want the binary nvidia driver (download from nvidia.com, unless debian has a package or something I don't know about).