Advertisement

Recursively counting file lines through directory heirarchy

Started by September 18, 2004 02:01 PM
8 comments, last by Q-Parser 19 years, 11 months ago
I'm somewhat new to unix and I'm trying to figure out how to count the lines in all the files throughout a directory heirarchy. I was trying:
ls -R | wc -l
but that won't work because I have to supply wc with the file list on the command line, not through stdin. As it stands, its just counting the number of files. I was thinking there may be some way to use the "env" program to execute "wc -l ..." from stdin, but I can't figure it out. [help]
find . -exec wc {} \;

This will find all files below the current directory (the "."), exec the wc command on each file (the "{}" represents the filename returned by find).

Find is a wonderful command, but can be hopelessly cryptic to the uninitiated.

Advertisement
Thanks, that works very well except that it doesn't return a total number of lines since each wc is executed separately. I've been using
wc -l * */* */*/* */*/*/* */*/*/*/*
which works for the moment, although its really limited and hackish.
You could try this,

find . -type f | xargs wc -l

-M
Wow magic! I'm really going to have to learn how this find command works.
If you only want .cpp files, try
wc -l `find | grep .cpp$`

Those are backticks (`), not apostrophes ('). They're on the tilde (~) key (next to the 1). What they do is take the output of whatever's in the backticks and insert it into the shell.

find & grep are easily the two most convoluted commands in unix. The man pages have a wealth of information, but you probably already knew that[grin].
Advertisement
Quote:
I'm somewhat new to unix and I'm trying to figure out how to count the lines in all the files throughout a directory heirarchy. I was trying:

ls -R | wc -l

If I understand it correctly, this is what you need:

ls -R | cat |wc -l
Quote: Original post by j0seph
Quote:

ls -R | wc -l