Advertisement

Help needed with wine

Started by July 21, 2004 02:25 AM
4 comments, last by mrhollow 20 years, 1 month ago
Hi, I'm not very experienced with Linux and have a problem running Wine... I have RedHat 7 or 8 and I installed wine from an RPM but when I try to run it I get the following errors: wine: creating configuration directory '/home/jakub/.wine'... err:module:load_builtin_dll failed to load .so lib for builtin L"x11drv.dll": libXv.so.1: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory Could not load graphics driver 'x11drv' err:module:LdrInitializeThunk Main exe initialization for L"C:\\windows\\rundll32.exe" failed, status c0000142 wine: wineprefixcreate failed while creating '/home/jakub/.wine'. I don't really understand what's going on or how to fix it :X
Comrade, Listen! The Glorious Commonwealth's first Airship has been compromised! Who is the saboteur? Who can be saved? Uncover what the passengers are hiding and write the grisly conclusion of its final hours in an open-ended, player-driven adventure. Dziekujemy! -- Karaski: What Goes Up...
Wine typically either works or doesn't work. More often than not it doesn't work. However it looks like you might be able to get past that specific error with the command "mkdir ~/.wine".

You might want to look into downloading one of the gui configuration programs for Wine. I'm not sure if Redhat packages them with Wine itself or not.
Advertisement
Well, my root user has the wine folder and all but it still doesn' t work...

I think it's about that x11drv.dll missing or something...

btw, wine should work on my Os since it DID work before (from a source file, I used make and such to install it) but it kinda screwed up and I uninstalled it and installed a new version from an RPM...