Advertisement

Game modelling and other tools for *nix

Started by July 11, 2004 09:36 PM
7 comments, last by Scourage 20 years, 2 months ago
Heya folks. As I usually do, I spent a while googling and reading these forums here before resolving to post. But - I decided maybe that since I was having a hard time finding anything decisive, I would toss the question out and see if anyone had any experiences they could tell me about. If people contribute nicely to this thread, there may be others who become interested in *nix game development (I hope), and I'm sure I'm not the only one will be found grateful! I frequent the forums here, and have spent a lot of time interested in and working in graphics, but not so much time working on actually creating games. Now that I have a job as a full time developer, my interest is turning away from more academic things, and I actually very much have a desire to work on games. Please read on - I don't come here with the usual questions of "how do I create games"... please know that I have a BS in CS, a BS in Applied Mathematics, and I have worked on physics/graphics things ranging from cloth/gel particle simulations to optimized raytracers with indirect illumination, a "toy" graphical BBS server (yes, it was a 100% academic experiment toy, it was a piece of crap, just a toy... ;))... I could go on, but I'm just trying to give the idea that I am not coming on fresh needing books on OpenGL and math and C++. What I AM posting for is that well - anyone who has been a fulltime dev knows well that as with any job, you get the whole 4-hours-a-day-and-weekends-to-yourself thing going on. Also, since you spend alot of time at work writing the more mundane parts of products, you don't really look forward to coming home and writing the plethora of tools you need to even START a game, and eventually losing interest and inspiration to write the actual GAME after months of writing the tools. So. I'll get to the point! I have seen folks writing gam