Advertisement

Suse 9.1

Started by June 22, 2004 11:06 PM
5 comments, last by __tunjin__ 20 years, 3 months ago
Is there a difference between Suse 9.1 Personal, and what you get off the FTP, i.e., if you follow these instructions? Suse looks nice and I would like to try it out, but I heard someone say that Suse 9.1 Personal doesn't come with development tools, and being a programmer, I kind of like having them :) I know I can get GCC and whatever else after installation if they aren't installed along with the OS, but I'm just curious what the situation is.
I don't think the ftp version contains the full contents of SuSE personal. For one thing, SuSE 9.1 Personal comes on 2 installation CDs, and the size of that ftp version looks like 96 MB. [edit: nevermind, misread the page]

SuSE Personal does come with dev tools. You can take a look at the package listing online.
Advertisement
Okay, it does come with some development stuff, but C/C++ development stuff? I don't see GCC listed there.

Do we know if the FTP version is the same as the Personal version? I'm not sure what's going on. You can either do the FTP install, or you can download an (apparently) stripped down Personal version in ISO form. I'm not sure if they're different from each other, but it sounds like both are stripped down compared to the Personal version.

I used to think most linux distros took the approach of, "here, it's free, and you can also purchase it if you want support." Suse seems more like, "here, you can have a toy version for free, but if you actually plan on using it you better buy it." At least that's the impression I'm getting the more I read their website.

Mandrake looks more and more appealing when I look at the "new" Redhat and Suse and all of the other distros who are trying to be more professional looking. Mandrake is easy to use, and it comes with everything. Suse just looks pretty as far as I can tell.
Quote: Original post by Russell