🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

How user friendly Linux?

Started by
13 comments, last by Kate 24 years, 1 month ago
I have no experience of Linux except web server log-in. How user friendly Linux is? Can users dispense with any command? Any command requirements will leave people out of the OS. (Even I hate command) By the way, Linux Windows is a good sign: it allows users to install Linux on Windows. But how fast it is? Is it slower than stand-alone Linux? Does Linux Windows have compatibility as good as stand-alone Linux? Kate
Advertisement
Linux is quite a complex system, and can take a bit of time to get used to. That said, the windowing environments like KDE and Gnome are very user friendly, and most recent distributions are very simple to install. You can pretty much achieve any task via the GUI.

The absolute best way to get Linux on your system the first time is to find yourself a guru to install it with you and walk you through the basic operations, like accessing CDROMs and floppy disks. (I generally find this to be the bit that most new users get stuck on - having to mount a file system doesn''t seem sensible when you''ve been using windows for a long time..)

As for windows linux, I''ve never tried it, but it''s probably a good way to get the hang of things without having to repartition you hard drive.

There are also many good places to get beginners information about linux on the net. The best place to start is at http://www.linux.com and http://sunsite.unc.edu/LDP/

Hope that helps a bit.
Cheers,

---
SAWDUST
http://members.xoom.com/sawdust_ths
---SAWDUSThttp://members.xoom.com/sawdust_ths
Hey Kate,