🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

What to tell a total beginner?

Started by
13 comments, last by jalaine 24 years, 2 months ago
Hi! I''m writing a general game programming tutorial for people that are writing their first game, and I find it a great challenge to teach them the good practises they''ll have to learn sooner or later. What topics I should in your opinion cover, so that it wouldn''t be too hard, but would still teach enough? Thanks! Jarkko
Advertisement
Hi if your gonna write a game -programming tutorial...you should first of all decide in what programm you would do tutorials about...my op is C... ...and im interested to learn....all depends about how much from the beginning and how much acknowledge you demands of the beginners...Start with learning some easy things (?) such as doing a game like the "snake"...dont really know if its easy to do that....but i would like to try....
/

JEWELAYE
Jewelaye
How about telling him/her where to go for major info. That is allways my problem I don''t know where to start. Also a good thing to do would be to introduce C or C++. and make sure all your code works!

***"When I die, don't bury me, Just hook me up to my computer and I will live forever!"***
***"When I die, don't bury me, Just hook me up to my computer and I will live forever!"***
how about an intro to object oriented programming?
I was thinking of using C, and maybe Allegro, so that I could teach the fundamentals that are same in what ever language you use, almost.. And Jewelaye, I was actually thinking about a snake game. I once wrote a small article on snake, but people have told me that that thing was too hard to follow, so I''m going to be starting from something more basic. But can I expect that people know C? As there are lots of good C tutorials on the net.

Jarkko